We are glad to announce the prize winners of our Eyelands international Book Awards For 2020

Here are the results for the international Eyelands Book Awards 2020.

First of all, we would like to thank all participants and all the kind people from webpages, blogs, zines and magazines who spread the news about our book awards. It was the third for our contest and submissions from all over the world were more than ever. As usual, it was very hard to choose finalists from all submissions and then even harder to choose the prize winners among the finalists. Many good books were submitted, many excellent works were to be read again and again in order to choose the winners.

Judges for the prizes were Andriana Minou, Patricia Marchesi (last year’s grand prize winner) and Gregory Papadoyiannis. Our guest judge for this year, Patricia Marchesi was the one to choose the grand prize winners among finalists who received equal votes from the jury.

This year we had to find ways to deal with the disruptions caused due to the pandemic, which didn’t allow us to hold an awards ceremony for last year’s grand prize winner. We have therefore decided, in order to be as fair as possible to prize winners, to offer them something extra–in case we won’t be able to organize a ceremony in Athens in 2021 either; both grand prize winners for the categories of published and unpublished books are invited to spend a week’s holiday in our Three Rock writers’ resort on the island of Crete!

There is also another alternative for the grand prize winner of the published book (both for 2019 and 2020): to be translated in Greek if there is no restriction about the rights of the book.

This year, we also launched a special prize for writers who have participated in Three Rock Writers’ Resort Program.

(you can see more here: http://www.strangedaysbooks.gr/2019/02/ )

As promised, one of the writers who spent one or two weeks at the Resort in order to write part of a book that was proposed according to the rules of the program, will be awarded a contract for the translation of his/her book in Greek. And that’s the Three Rock prize, which you will see among other prizes this year.

We also decided to give two Special Distinctions for two excellent writers under the age of 18. For next year’s Eyelands Book Awards 2021, there will be a new category especially for writers under 18!

The Award ceremony – subject to circumstances – will take place in Athens in May 2021 for the grand prize winners (published books) of both 2019 and 2020.

Next year’s contest will be launched on June 20th, 2021


(By submission order/ number of finalists according to category participants)

SPECIAL DISTINCTION:  U18 – Zone book /Mysteries – Cooper White / New Zealand

SPECIAL DISTINCTION: U18 Maximum Flight – Abigail Keoghan /Ireland

(submission and photos after parents approval)


Fingertip of the tongue- Sarah Rice /Australia

Dust Blown side of the journey – Eleonore Schönmaier / Netherlands


The storehouse of wonder and astonishment – Sherry Mossafer Rind / USA


The infinity trap – Ian C Douglas /United Kingdom


Surfing, Your Star Shines Above Me – Vezna Andrews /USA


Making love while levitating three feet in the air – Jeff  Fearnside /USA


Don Quixote’s Death and Other Stories-Ratomir Rale Damjanovic / Serbia


Empire of Glass – Kaitlin Solimine / USA


The Gift of Sunshine: Story of a Hong Kong Family- Susan Wan Dolling /USA


A roll of the dice – Mona Dash / United Kingdom


The Red Tunic – Kate Wiseman / United Kingdom

THREE ROCK PRIZE: Lizardmaid – Robin Luce Martin / USA /



Exile Music – Jennifer Steil / United Kingdom


Lessons from the Greeks – Gail Sidonie Šobat /Canada

Grand Prize: A five-day holiday in Athens plus a special handmade ceramic designed especially for Eyelands Book Awards and publication (excerpts) online on our website. Eyelands cover all accommodation costs for the award winner. Air tickets not included. The author must agree to participate in the EBA ceremony (which will be held in Athens) and the related publicity (interviews e.t.c.). If for any reason the writer won’t be available to attend the ceremony the prize will be send via mail and the EBA will invite the grand prize winner of the unpublished category.

Five more prizes, one for each category, also win a special handmade ceramic designed especially for Eyelands Book Awards

Certification document for every prize.

Section: Unpublished books

Grand prize: Publication from Strange Days Books. Released via amazon.com (international release) & from Strange Days Books

Five more prizes, one in each category, also win a special handmade ceramic designed especially for Eyelands Book Awards

Certification document for every prize.

Special distinction category: certificate & hand made ceramic gift

All finalists and prize winners of eyelands book awards 2020 can apply for residency at Three Rock Writers Resort for SUMMER/AUTUMN/2021 –till May,31, 2021

wish you a happy

new year


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.